Artist – and Quantum Physicist

“Art is magic freed from the deception of truth” – the words of Theodor W. Adorno, philosopher of the Frankfurt School, are an excellent description of great painting. Horst Güntheroth’s work is grounded in this principle. And in a particularly tangible way.

Employing scientific principles in the search for truth played an important part in Güntheroth’s early development. The  Hamburg-based artist graduated in physics and, as a theoretical physicist, carried out research into quantum mechanics.  It was at this time that he started to move away from the certainties provided by science and to engage artistically with the range and diversity of material phenomena. The aim: to create something magical.

horstportrait

A focal point of Güntheroth’s work is the universe. This immense space which we inhabit on planet Earth is restlessly active and full of fascinating material. It is the home and birthplace of all life. Whoever stares into this vastness from the Earth shudders at its impenetrability and its mystery, and is beset by the most fundamental of questions : what is all this? How big is this world? How did it come into being? And what role is man, who appears but fleetingly in the universe, to play?

Horst Güntheroth approaches what happens in the universe emotionally, not analytically. He uses telescopic images from space – swirling cloud matter, distant galaxies and blazing extra-terrestrial fire – for visual reflection. And yet this is nothing more than inspiration. Güntheroth works continually with distance and abstraction, repeatedly switching standpoint and perspective. Often, roles are even ascribed to mere aspects. From this emerge abstract works of art whose origins are not immediately or wholly clear to the observer. And yet it is precisely in this mystery that lies nearly all of their appeal.

In addition Güntheroth sets off time and again on artistic excursions, paying flying visits to minute worlds which are of course themselves part of the vast cosmos. He is always experimenting anew, creating the unconventional and the symbolical.

Horst Güntheroth is a member of the Professional Association of Creative Arts.

Maler – und
Quantenphysiker

„Kunst ist Magie, befreit von der Lüge, Wahrheit zu sein“ – die Worte Theodor W. Adornos, Philosoph der Frankfurter Schule, sind eine treffliche Beschreibung für gelungene Malerei. Die Arbeiten von Horst Güntheroth orientieren sich an diesem Anspruch. Sogar in einem ganz konkreten Sinne.

Im Lebenslauf des Hamburger Malers spielte zunächst die Suche nach Wahrheit eine große Rolle, nach naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis. Güntheroth absolvierte ein Physikstudium und forschte als theoretischer Physiker auf dem Gebiet der Quantenmechanik. Dann begann er, sich malend mit der Vielfalt physikalischen Geschehens auseinanderzusetzen und sich in diesem Prozess von der naturwissenschaftlichen Gewissheit zu entfernen. Mit dem Ziel, Magisches zu schaffen.

horstportrait

© Elisabeth Kiesselbach

Ein Schwerpunkt von Güntheroths Malerei ist das Weltall. Der unermessliche Raum, in dem wir auf dem Planeten Erde leben, ist in ständiger Dynamik und voll bizarrer Objekte. Er ist der Ort und die Geburtsstätte allen Seins. Wer von der Erde aus in dieses Größte blickt, schaudert ob seiner Unergründlichkeit und Rätselhaftigkeit. Ihm drängen sich die elementarsten Fragen auf: Was ist all das? Wie groß ist diese Welt? Wie ist sie entstanden? Und welche Rolle spielt darin der Mensch, der nur ein Augenblicksereignis ist im All?

Der Künstler nähert sich nicht analytisch sondern sinnlich dem Geschehen im Universum. Er nutzt zur bildlichen Reflexion Teleskopaufnahmen aus dem All – von wabernden Materiewolken, fernen Galaxien und lodernden Himmelsfeuern. Doch sie sind nur Inspiration. Immer arbeitet er mit Verfremdung und Abstraktion. Dabei wechselt er häufig Standpunkt und Perspektive. Oft gar spielen lediglich Aspekte eine Rolle. Heraus kommen abstrakte Kunstwerke, deren Ursprung der Betrachter auf Anhieb kaum identifizieren kann. Doch gerade in diesem Rätselhaften liegt ein Großteil ihrer Spannung.

Daneben bricht Güntheroth immer wieder auf zu bildnerischen Exkursionen, macht Stippvisiten in kleinere Welten, auch sie natürlich ein Teil des großen Kosmos. Stets aufs Neue experimentiert er, kreiert Eigenwilliges, auch Figuratives.

Horst Güntheroth ist Mitglied im „Berufsverband bildender Künstlerinnen und Künstler“.

English